Tuesday, 14 July, 2020
Exclusives - 10 March, 2020

Scindia along with supporters likely to join the BJP on March 12 at Bhopal

Former Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia along with his supporters is likely to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on March 12 at Bhopal. Scindia, who resigned from the primary membership of the Indian... #ScindialikelytojoinBJPonMarch12#

Samuel Mathai

Bhopal: Former Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia along with his supporters is likely to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on March 12 at Bhopal. Scindia, who resigned from the primary membership of the Indian National Congress on Tuesday morning, had sent his resignation letter to the Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

The BJP Central Poll Panel that met at the party headquarters in New Delhi, according to sources, has decided to give a Rajya Sabha seat to Jyotiraditya Scindia and likely to accommodate him in the Union ministry. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has also attended the meeting.

Meanwhile in Bhopal, dealing a blow to the wafer-thin majority of the ruling combine in the State assembly, 22 Congress MLAs, including six ministers who are known loyalists of Scindia also resigned from their position in the assembly on Tuesday afternoon. Nineteen of them submitted their resignations together to Governor Lalji Tandon. The developments came shortly after Scindia announced his resignation from the party.

The ministers who tendered their resignation letters are -- Tulsi Silavat, Pradyumn Singh Tomar, Mahendra Singh Sisodiya, Govind Singh Rajput, Imrati Devi and Prabhuram Chauhdary. Whereas, a Congress leader said, the MLAs who have emailed their resignations to the state assembly Speaker NP Prajapati include Hardeep Singh Dang, Rajyavardhan Singh, Brajendra Singh Yadav, Jaspal Jajji, Suresh Dhakad, Jaswant Jatav, Santram Sironia, Munnalal Goyal, Ranveer Singh Jatav, OPS Bhadoria, Kamlesh Jatav, Giriraj Dandotiya, Raghuraj Kansana and Biasahulal Singh.

One more Congress MLA Aindal Singh Kansana too is reported to have submitted his resignation letter to the Speaker. Kansana is one of the 10 MLAs who had left for Delhi a week back as a result of the BJP’s poaching attempts that Congress leaders had alleged. State Congress spokesperson Pankaj Chaturvedi, a close confidant of Scindia also resigned from the party’s primary membership soon after Scindia announced that he was quitting the party.

According to a Raj Bhavan official, the 19 MLAs and ministers faxed their resignation to the governor. A photograph of them holding their resignation letters soon went viral on social media. The others resigned separately in Bhopal.

Chief Minister Kamal Nath wrote to the governor recommending the sacking of these ministers from his cabinet. However, the governor who is in his hometown Lucknow and he is yet to take a decision on the chief minister’s letter, the Raj Bhavan official said.

Meanwhile, a BJP leader said former home minister Bhupendra Singh has flown in from Bengaluru with resignation letters of the MLAs and he is expected to submit the resignation letters to the Speaker in person in the evening subject to his availability.

Scindia along with Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Tuesday morning, amid indications that he may join hands with the BJP to topple the Madhya Pradesh government, called on Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

On Monday, 17 legislators went incommunicado, sparking intense speculation about the fate of Kamal Nath-led Congress government in Madhya Pradesh.

In a surprise move on Monday late night, 20 Cabinet ministers in the Madhya Pradesh government had tendered their resignations to Chief Minister Kamal Nath, plunging the state's Congress government into a political uncertainty.

Earlier, allegations had been made against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the principal Opposition in the state, for holding at least eight Madhya Pradesh MLAs against their will at a resort in Gurugram and in Bengaluru.

In the 2018 Assembly election, Congress, which had won 114 seats in the 230-member House, had formed the government with the support of four Independent MLAs and two BSP MLAs, and a legislator from the Samajwadi Party (SP). The BJP had secured 109 seats in the state Assembly.

Bhopal - The City of Lakes
Tourist Attractions in M.P.